The views of the authors on this website are not neccessarily the views of the website. All comments are solely the responsibility of those who write them.

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Delaware School Board Elections Take Place Today Throughout The State.

In Sussex County there are three contested races. The Cape Henlopen, Seaford and Woodbridge School Districts have the only contested school board races.
Jennifer Burton and William Downs are running for the area “D” seat on the Cape Henlopen School Board, which is being vacated by Camilla Conlon. Voting will take place at Rehoboth Elementary School, Cape Henlopen High School and Mariner Middle School.
There is one seat up for election in the Seaford School District. Incumbent Suzanne Farris, the current school board president, is challenged by Bruce Fitzgerald, Michael Kraft and Donald Tricarico, Junior. The seat is for 5 years and voting is taking place at the School District’s Administrative Office on North Market Street Extended.
There is one at-large seat up for election on the Woodbridge School Board. Current School Board president, Paul Breeding is challenged by Jordan Warfel for the 5 year seat. The polls are open at Woodbridge High School in Bridgeville and Woodbridge Elementary School in Greenwood.
In Kent County, there are also two school board races in the Milford School District today; one race is for an at-large seat and the other is for area “D”. Incumbent Gary Wolfe is seeking re-election for the at-large seat; he’s facing challengers Barry Fry and Regina Williams. Eugene Rust and Dean Johnson go head to head for the area “D” seat. Voters can cast ballots at Benjamin Banneker Elementary, Evelyn I. Morris Early Childhood Center and Lulu Ross Elementary.
The polls are open from 10 to 8pm. The new school board members will begin their 5-year terms on July first.

No comments: